$8,000 College Scholarship Program

The San Diego AFCEA Chapter provides three $2,000 per year scholarships, renewable annually for a maximum award of $8,000 for undergraduate studies over four years. Selected students must have strong academics, a record of leadership, extracurricular activities, and volunteer service activities both in their school and in their community. The three $2,000 scholarships are each awarded to one competitively selected graduating high school student who will attend an accredited four-year college or university in the United States. Candidates must be residents of San Diego County, have a minimum grade point average of 4.0, and be majoring in science, technology, math, or engineering curriculums. 

Completed application packets must be received online via email sent to Gloria McKearney, Scholarship Chair, at gloria.mckearney2@gmail.com by June 3, 2024.  Applications received after that date will not be considered. Applicants are responsible for the completeness and timeliness of their submissions. Selections and notifications will be made by July 15th, 2024.  Checks will be distributed by August 14, 2024. 

The winners of the 2022-23 College Scholarship Program are:

Rohan Bosworth from Poway High School. Rohan will major in Computer Science and Engineering at MIT.

Hanadi Kamal from Steele Canyon High School. Hanadi will major in Biology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics at UCLA.

Shriya Sankaran from Del Norte High School. Shriya will major in Bioengineering at UC Berkeley. 

Questions?  Contact: Gloria McKearney, Scholarship Chair, at gloria.mckearney2@gmail.com 

The Common Application is available HERE.


Membership in AFCEA International provides access to an unrivaled forum for public and private sector professionals in the communications, intelligence and information technology arenas to interact and share ideas. To this end, AFCEA holds world-renowned conventions, expositions, conferences, and symposia to keep its members up-to-date on the state of their industry.

Join today to connect with the premier network of thought leaders in the global security community.