Previous Awardees

San Diego County students were awarded scholarships from the chapter in August at the University Club atop Symphony Towers. Matt Beekman, chapter vice president, and Terry McKearney, executive vice president for education, presented the awards to the students, while Gloria McKearney, scholarship chair, gave a short summary of each student’s achievements. The students were urged to return home after completing their studies and contribute to the many leading-edge high-tech industries in San Diego. During the reception, AFCEA board members talked to the students and their families about the importance of STEM careers supporting the security of our nation.
Students were awarded the scholarships due to their outstanding academic achievement, extracurricular activities, community service and commitment to majoring in STEM fields in college. Students appreciated being able to network with other students and AFCEA STEM professionals before going off to college.

Students and board members pose for a photo.

Front row (l-r): Kayla Xu (Princeton, Computer Science), Nadeen Youhanan (UCSD, Neuroscience), and Rita Kamal (UCLA, Biology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics); Back row: Terry McKearney, executive vice president for education, Gloria McKearney, scholarship chair, Shannon Yeow (Princeton, Computer Science), Nrmin Adeeb (UCSD, Biology), Ella Perry (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Mechanical Engineer), Joe Eastham (UCSD, Biochemistry), Olivia Kries (Vanderbilt, Biology), and Matt Beekman, chapter vice president. Not pictured: Jack Johnson (Louisiana State, Mechanical Engineer) and Kaitlyn Naputi (Cornell, Biology).




Membership in AFCEA International provides access to an unrivaled forum for public and private sector professionals in the communications, intelligence and information technology arenas to interact and share ideas. To this end, AFCEA holds world-renowned conventions, expositions, conferences, and symposia to keep its members up-to-date on the state of their industry.

Join today to connect with the premier network of thought leaders in the global security community.